In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can this cause?

In the majority of countries around the world, the population is internally migrating from the countryside to the cities. In the following paragraphs, the causes of this phenomenon will be discussed, as well as the possible negative consequences that it brings. Firstly, the main reason for this massive movement of population, may have roots in the lack of job opportunities in the countryside. As an example, we can see the case of Colombia in which the rural unemployment rates have risen up to 70% in the last three decades. In order to remediate this issue, governments have not taken any actions to increase the jobs available in the rural areas in different countries, as a result, we now have more people moving into urban zones. Secondly, this internal migration brings some downsides. In many main cities, housing prices are on the rise, which means that those who arrive have little opportunity to acquire a decent place to live. For instance, in Bogota is usual to find big houses in poor conditions crowded with people who arrived to find better opportunities. Unfortunately, some of the youngers that came to the cities found themselves involved in organized crime that gives them more opportunities than the government does. To summarise, the countryside in many nations is becoming poorer by the years, therefore, people find no chances to survive and they move to the big urban metropolis. When they arrive there, they find poor living conditions and sometimes they end up immersed in crime and some other activities that deteriorate their quality of life. Local governments must take quick actions to mitigate the root causes and their consequences.