Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

In our contemporary day and age, there a war of words regarding the influence of Television on the culture of societies. In my opinion, the impact of media on culture has equal pros and cons. The following paragraphs will shed light on my personal perspective along with relevant examples. If I look at positive aspects of television influence on the culture of particularly my society I can find numerous advantages. Firstly, TV can be educational. For example, people have can learn English by watching foreign movies with subtitles, watch cognitive channels such as National Geographic to know the environment better. As a result, individuals in society can learn during their leisure time. Secondly, constant work can be a cause of burnout. People need to take their minds away from the problems and take a rest. Therefore, watching TV for a couple of hours can have a conducive effect on mental health. On the negative side, broadcasted media can have a detrimental effect on the culture as a whole. For instance, violent movies can encourage young teenagers to commit criminal offences. Additionally, the portrayed western lifestyle is not always appropriate to the culture of my country; however, some teenagers start following it which is wrong. To sum up, culture is a complex phenomenon, with a host of different factors. Taking everything into account, I personally feel that although television can be a source of information for society and adversely affect the personal development of individuals, yet the downside should not be ignored.