Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that excessive improvement in technology is considered an indispensable factor in our lives, consequently, the unemployment rate has increased. Although I agree that technology has made a great impact in the industry, I believe that we cannot dispense with the human element in the work. At the outset, myriads of folk have been replaced, because automation has been used in versatile fields. Firstly, it is known that apparatus has the ability to perform multiple tasks in a short time, and with non-existent error; therefore, some manufacturers prefer to recruit apparatus so that they will gain numerous profits. In addition, industrialization reduces the cost of production, as they do not get paid, unlike the employees who need appropriate wages to afford their needs. For instance, some supermarkets have superseded cashier careers with self-checkout auto appliances that perform tasks promptly. This is why Industrialized machinery becomes more and more crucial every day. In sharp contrast to this, although automation has resulted in losing people their jobs, it is also the reason for creating new professions in which machines need to operate them. Factories manufacturing computers, cell phones and ATM machines employ tens of thousands of people, and these jobs were not available a few decades ago. To illustrate this, every machine requires regular maintenance as machines need inventors to improve their work, and teachers and instructors to show folk how machines should be used. Thus, advanced automation has a crucial role in creating new professions that were not available before. To conclude, although some people feel that technology has resulted in unemployment, I think that, technology makes our life easier and has a vital role in many fields and generates new jobs.