Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Some parts of society opine that academic exams can give a clear idea of students performance, whereas it's hard to assess students on the basis of assignments and extra-curricular activities. Formal examination and continual assessment, In my view, should be given equal weightage to calculate an individual's talent. To begin with, the examinations are carried out from ages which plays a crucial part in student's success. Secondly, the examinations show how a student can handle a pressure situation. Moreover, it tests the memory and theoretical basic knowledge of a individual. For instance, the assessment gives a clear indication to a student in which topics they lack. However, schools should also focus on the extra activities rather than just focusing on an academic subject. On the other side, the examinations have a demerit such as students takes a lot of stress and fall into depression. As a result, they don't perform well in written assessment. In contrast, this is not just the way to calculate anyone's success as continual assessment such as sports and team project can give us a clear view of anyone's character. In addition, non-curricular activities help to develop a different talent and open the various types of field. And the team project shows the communicative skills and leadership qualities which are essential for some courses. For example, Virat Kohli an Indian cricketer was poor in mathematics but,, still its dedication towards cricket makes him the world's most successful cricketer of all time. To summarise, the written exams and extra-curricular activities both should be given equal importance for valuing anyone's talent. Although exams test the knowledge, it also gives stress to the students.