Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a belief that letting infants choose on daily matters such as meals, clothes and free time activities might develop a community of selfish people. However, there is another opinion claiming that it is essential for children to decide on their own about things impacting them. This essay will discuss both views and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, the right to make own decision can have shortcomings on the young generation and society. Firstly, it can make children more self-concerned and indifferent towards others' preferences and wishes. For example, adolescents who are able to make their own choices are likely to shop for clothes and groceries, prepare food and plan trips only according to their tastes without accounting for other opinions. Moreover, these children tend not to accept advice from their parents or friends. Refusing to listen to other people's viewpoints and recommendations may result in relationship impairments and appearing of an ignorant society. On the other hand, making own choices is crucial in a child's upbringing and personality forming. This option demonstrates infants to be independent and self-sufficient. If parents were making decisions for their child, it would result in an adult that would not have an own opinion and be able to survive in the competitive world where we make various decisions including the risky ones on a daily basis. Furthermore, allowing children to fulfill their intentions teaches how to analyse a situation and its possible outcomes depending on what actions are undertaken. In my opinion, even though children determine what they should only based on their desires, having an opportunity to do this independently grants vital skills such as self-reliance and critical thinking. To conclude, society of people considering only own wishes may arise due to the permission for young individuals to make choices. However, I strongly believe that this allowance develops integral abilities in the modern world.