"With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the Internet in order to meet friends which can cause potentially dangerous situations. What solutions do you suggest?"

In the last decades, the expansive use of technological devices has increased the activity of adolescents within the internet. Unfortunately, this can derive on the exposure to hazardous situations when not overseen by an adult. Firstly, this essay will discuss some of the potential dangers the web can bring to youngsters and secondly, some possible solutions to this problematic. On the one hand, it is knwon that adolescents are prone to be victims of fraud and violence, as they are easy to fool. Criminals over the internet use false profiles and information to establish connexion and obtain confidential information. For instance, when youngsters get into groups to play virtual games, in other to get an upgrade or additional features, they can be conviced by their fake friends to give their parents credit card information. Moreover, with the excuse of meeting in person their new virtual friends, they can attend unaccompanied an appointment where they get kidnapped. Therefore, it is importat to be aware of the multiple risks youngsters are exposed to when giving them open access to the internet On the other hand, to all these possible dangers we can find possible solutions. Parents and teachers must be vigilant of the websites youngsters access, as well as the amount of time they spend online. In addition, when considered appropiate adults should block certain applications and content. For example, nowadays there are applications by which children´s activity is monitorized and parents are alerted when risks are detected. Alerting kids explaining clearly risky situations, before they are given access to the internet is also crucial. Thus, increased supervision and communication are the means to solve this unfortunate situation.  In conclusion, open access to the virtual world is a constant threat for adolescents. Situations of violence and fraud can be avoided if adults perform a responsible supervision and establish a strong communication with the youngsters at their care.