In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is no iota of doubt that society is giving preference to reading digital books rather than physical books. This phenomenon is offering manifold benefits to people. However, sometimes a couple of issues emerge due to the same. The following paragraphs will analyze the pros and cons of reading paper books. If we look at the positive aspects of reading e- books, we can find numerous conveniences. First and foremost, people can read electronic books from any gadgets. This means that people do not have to carry additional items intended for reading. Secondly, people with eyesight problems can adjust colour, contrast and font size on their devices. For example, old people with bad vision can increase the font size and enjoy reading without efforts. Thirdly, reading e- books can be economically more efficient than paper books. Therefore, people can afford to read an unlimited number of books in their personal e-libraries. On the negative side, reading a digital book can pose a threat to eyesight health. Nevertheless, compared to the convenience that e- books provide, the aforementioned problem is negotiable. For instance, people can protect their eyes by wearing special glasses, or they can install eye protection screens. Additionally, reading digital books can be boring for children and they might rather want to play games installed on the device. To sum up, I personally believe that the merits of reading electronic books outnumber the demerits. Even so, people should make efforts to minimize the strain on eyes while reading by wearing vision protection glasses or installing vision protection screens.