Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should only read serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

In the contemporary day and age, there is a war of words regarding the issue that children waste their time by reading entertainment books. Hence, some people believe that younger ones should read only educational books. I totally disagree with this opinion; because, the process of reading itself has a conducive effect on people. In the following paragraphs, I will highlight my perspectives along with relevant examples. The main reason I don't see eye to eye with the central idea because reading is educational regardless of the literature genre. To be more specific, while reading, children become more literate. They learn words' spelling and increase their vocabulary. To illustrate, those children who prefer reading, tend to be more intelligent than their counterparts who would rather watch TV in their leisure time. Secondly, reading fiction gives a chance to experience living in a totally different. As a result, these, seemingly unimportant books foster imagination and empathy in younger ones. Adding further, children frequently experience stress caused by their studies and peer pressure. Therefore, reading can be a perfect way to take their minds off the problems and unwind. Moreover, reading is a way better activity than watching TV or playing with friends. For this, and many more reasons, parents should encourage their children to read. To sum up, I would concede that reading educational literature is definitely beneficial on many levels. However, reading is a complex phenomenon, with a host of advantages apart from education. Overall, I personally believe that reading fiction books are not a waste of time.