The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens' health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is argued that instead of channeling a huge amount of money into protecting the environment, the healthcare sector should be invested more by national leaders, which ensures the health of people. However, in my opinion, both fields are of vital importance for national prosperity and should be spent equally because of some reasons below. On the one hand, I believe that investing financial resources in medical research directly and obviously makes a significant contribution to the overall improvement of the population's knowledge. To be more specific, it allows citizens to have better horizons on potential diseases and come up with relevant preventive measures, therefore significantly reducing the mortality rate. Additionally, people have more chances to earn money to live with their family and help the community as their longevity can be expanded by outstanding breakthroughs and discoveries of the modern medical industry. For example, in the past, the life cycle of humans was average at about 55, however, in the present, the average age is at about 70. On the other hand, I also argue that spending money on preserving and protecting the environment has significant impacts on human health in the long run. It is evident that potential hazards to human health associated with the deterioration of the environment are numerous, including respiratory diseases from prolonged exposure to air pollution and infections from the direct use of contaminated water. Therefore, protecting the environment, preventing it from being deteriorated and altered is the earliest preventive measure to ensure a healthy society. In conclusion, I myself hold a firm belief that the government should not be in favor of either medical research or preserving the environment. To gain sustainable development in the long term, the national budget should be invested equally into protecting the environment as well as researching medical sectors.