Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It is generally accepted that human emotion can be affected by colour and there is numerous research that confirms that view. I believe that a proper colour can boost people’s positivity and that’s why some public buildings like offices and hospitals must be decorated in an appropriate way to bring good influence to its occupant. To begin with, psychologists have taken research to find the reason why colour might be a determinant factor in people’s behaviour. As a matter of fact, it could be related to the activity in a particular part of the human brain which is known for its function to organize emotion. People were taught from their early life that some colours have an obvious meaning. For example, if we see the red lights on the street then we immediately get an alert to our brain to stop our vehicle while the green lights signal us to go ahead. Furthermore, there are the same perceptions about some colours that have been used in our community. For instance, in offices, the company usually chooses bright colours to make their employees feel more in a widened area. With that feeling, the workers might have the opportunity to be more creative in their job. Another example, in hospitals, their wall colour is just white because it represents hygiene and cleanliness. That kind of sense might be useful for patients that are trying to recover their condition. In conclusion, several findings generate the result that colour has an important impact on people’s behaviour. That kind of knowledge has been used by humans when they decorate public buildings with certain colours on purpose.