Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For years, reading books has been a dominated way of entertainment for children. However, with the popularity of various electronic devices, children can also spend their leisure time watching TV and playing computer games. I partly agree with the view held by some people that reading stories in books is a better use of time than watching TV or playing computer games. Admittedly, TV and computer games appear to be more stimulating and engaging since they combine auditory and visual information together. The well-designed visual animation, recorded music, together with flexible interactions of electronic activities could easily attract children ’s attention and stimulate their study interest. For example, some educational channels on TV not only provide entertainment but also impart knowledge and information. Nevertheless, the benefits of reading in books could outweigh those of watching TV or playing electronic games to some extent. Firstly, books expand imagination. To be more specific, books allows children themselves to make up the character’s voices and paint the pictures in their own way rather than sitting in front of a screen and simply enjoying the directors’ painting. Therefore, during the reading process, enough imagination space are there for children to develop their creative thinking and even critical thinking. In addition, books, though not always even in quality, are far more psychologically beneficial than TV or video games. Compared to TV or video games, to which children could easily become addicted, book can really be paused since readers could pick right back up where they left off. Moreover, books are ends in themselves. Compared with TV and computer games that are created mainly for the entertainment purpose, books are written not for the purpose of achieving something else but only to communicate great ideas of life, of death, of struggle. Given this kind of nature, books are a better way for children to get positive values and knowledge. Thus, without addiction and negative information, books could provide children healthy grow up. In conclusion, even though children are fond of electronic activities more than books, I am convinced that TV and video games pale in comparison with books and children should spent more time on reading.