Crime & Punishment Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are controversial opinions about how retribution should be set for a particular crime. Some argue that it is important to take into consideration the background and the situation where an individual was stimulated to perform a crime while others think that irrespective of those the punishment should be standard subject to the particular act. In my opinion, justice can not ignore some factors at the point of recommending the punishment. To begin with, some people are performing un-lawful acts due to various personal reasons. For instance, certain unlawful acts have been performed by people with different mental illnesses, the worst thing is either society or that individual is not aware of these conditions. Secondly, certain people are committing crimes to safeguard themselves. For example, one would commit a murder in order to self-defence. If some person is causing unethical trouble, any human has the right to ensure their own safety. On the contrary, there should be a certain level of uniformity in relation to penalties to accomplish social justice. When the penalties are fixed, the public would aware of the fact that they can not get away from retribution. Also, it is good to implement uniform punishments for certain common minor crimes such as drink and drive. So that person would think twice before they act on it. In conclusion, considering external factors such as emotions and circumstances are very much critical in executing penalties. However, it needs to be done in a manner where one could not be motivated to commit a crime simply knowing that they can get away with it.