Some people that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Art is an essential part of any society. It is considered by some that the government allocates too much funds to the arts and should use their financial resources for other areas. In my opinion, I entirely disagree with this statement for the benefit of society. Firstly, the arts have a vital role in society from an economic perspective. There is a strong connection between an artwork and the culture and history of the country, which makes the arts unique in every nation. For this reason, the arts are a significant source of income in tourism for many countries. In Japan, for instance, more than 80% of foreign tourists visit at least one art gallery or traditional theatre during their visit. If the government spent more money on improving the art experience for tourists, it would have a positive impact on the country’s economy. Secondly, spending money on the arts is essential for the peace of the world. Many artworks depict tragic events that have occurred in human history. While education and non-governmental organisations play a crucial part in preventing such events from happening in the future, the arts can be a powerful way to raise awareness among people as they often evoke strong feelings in the viewer. Therefore, by granting more funds to the arts, more people would be aware of our past mistakes, leading to a higher chance of achieving peace. A good example of this is the well-known wall painting ‘Guernica’ by Pablo Picasso, which has taught a sizable number of people worldwide about the cruelty of war. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that governmental money on the arts is wasteful for economic and peace reasons. It is advisable that the government and individuals acknowledge the value of the arts and strive to preserve them.