In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Young people are given the idea that they can achieve whatever they want if they are hard-working enough in a few cultures. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this culture. The main advantage is that children can be confident in themselves when they receive this type of message repeatedly. Therefore, they may pay more attention to self-improving rather than doubting themselves when they meet obstacles. For example, researchers who grow up with such belief may spend a longer time reviewing their data and proposing more scientific experiment designs instead of giving up immediately after they see a couple of undesired results. Meanwhile, children who believe in the power of diligence tend to work more proactively no matter when they have to find their own directions or when they are assigned tasks by their bosses when they become adults. As a result, there are higher possibilities that they can achieve their potential. However, disadvantages also exist if we keep delivering such messages to young children. It can be devastating for children when they in the end realize that multiple problems cannot be solved no matter how hard they try. Some of them may feel depressed and if this depression lasts for a long time, it will definitely pose a threat to their mental health. Some others may develop unhealthy lifestyles such as overeating, drinking and smoking, which will in turn harm their physical health and sometimes result in problems including obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure. In conclusion, we can find benefits and drawbacks in giving children a message saying that they can achieve anything if they work hard enough and it would be better if we can help children to maintain a balance between their self-confidence and their understanding of the real world.