Today, the high sales of popular consumer goos reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has developed dramatically over the last years, some people consider that the increase in the number of sales depends mainly on our exposition to adverts. Generally speaking, advertising has become an essential tool of many companies that have rocket their sales through incredible campaigns. The introduction of the internet has changed the world of advertising which has moved from billboards to our computers. This has allowed small companies to reach more people with online adverts. For example, through the use of email marketing, companies can keep in contact with their customers at zero costs. Services like this can easily capture the attention of a person that then will decide to buy something without the actual need of it. The use of physical promotions and cyber sales are another two interesting strategies that advertisement has used in the last years to attract people to buy products. For example, in Italy during the month of,July most of the shops decide to put their products at considerable discounts of around 50% or 70%. It is known that the shops in the city get extremely crowded and people start buying as much as possible. The same thing happens online, for instance, Amazon has its own sales days called Prime days in which many products are under discounts. People attracted by the offers would then decide to buy many things because the discount period is limited to 1 or 2 days. In conclusion, it is possible to say that advertising strategies have for sure contribute to a massive increase in sales online and offline.