Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments can tackle these problems.

In the contemporary day and age cities are getting overpopulated by people moving from rural to urban areas. Overpopulation is a complex issue with a host of factors. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and suggest feasible solutions. Overpopulation in urban areas can lead to overcrowding and poor living conditions. To be more specific, people moving from rural areas will trigger the demand for housing. Subsequently, poor people will have to live in poverty-stricken conditions. Which would lead to health-related issues. For instance, New Delhi is considered an overpopulated city in India, incalculable number of families live in desperate conditions. Additionally, overpopulation will bring unemployment and increased crime rates. People will have to commit criminal offences only to survive. In terms of solution, I believe that governments should be largely responsible. Firstly, it is important to improve living conditions in rural areas. One of the main reasons for people relocating from rural areas is the poor quality of educational and medical facilities. Therefore, by improving the conditions of basic human needs government can minimize the relocation of citizens and increase employment opportunities. Secondly, it is necessary to improve urban and rural transport so that people could easily live in nearby suburbs and commute every day to their work palaces. For example, if railway roads, connecting rural areas with cities are improved people may not need the relocation. To sum up, overpopulation in cities may pose a serious threat to many sectors including the economy, housing, and public health. I am convinced that government should timely take necessary, aforementioned measures to tackle this issue.