Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an inevitable fact that education plays a pivotal role in moulding one's life. While some people believe that subjects like literature should be part of the secondary school curriculum for the overall development of students, others argue that it is a sheer waste of money, time and efforts. This essay asserts and agrees that poetry should be integrated into the school syllabus for the well-being of pupils. First and foremost, subjects like literature add meaning to life. For example, while studying these, it might bring out hidden talents like students' creativity. It boosts their verbal and non-verbal communication skills. In addition, pupils can express their thoughts and ideas after inculcating wisdom. Moreover, it undoubtedly helps adolescent to respite from the arduous study of maths, chemistry and physics. Besides, it inculcates moral values such as empathy and compassion. Despite its apparent advantages, some people reckon it is worthless to include recreational activities in the high school curriculum. For instance, when academia imbibes knowledge rather than recreational activities, it unquestionably assists them to grab job opportunity for their future growth. In addition, poem and novels do not have tangible benefits. Nevertheless, novels and poems not only enhances the power of imagination but also develop aesthetic values in pupils. Further, several studies have shown that students achieve a higher grade in academic who learn literature compare to others. In conclusion, although other topics such as science are of paramount importance in this competitive era for their better future growths, recreational activities unquestionably instil personality traits like sympathy, kindness and generosity. Therefore, it appears that studying novels and poems in educational institutions is best for the welfare of society.