People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Person’s health conditions are often related to his/her way of life, for that reason, some may argue that individuals who intentionally having unhealthy meals and self-destruct habit are subject to higher health services charge. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that medical care is one of human’s basic need and governments shall avoid unnecessary expense to identify bad-habitual persons. Firstly, every human has the same rights regardless of his/her lifestyles. Moreover, providing sufficient health facility and treatment are one of governments obligation to ensure their citizens’ basic needs are fulfilled. Furthermore, it is unfair if one’s routines such as their daily food consumption and behaviour are become determining factor while many other negative issues like driving recklessly that might lead to an accident is still neglected or not considered. Another point to consider is that having valid and reliable data regarding everyone lifestyle and food they consumed is not a simple task. These data need to be constantly updated, and to do so, it will require not only a huge number of human resource but also time-consuming, and this will be resulting another inevitably expense for governments. This unnecessary expensive cost can be avoided simply by imposing a policy that equals for everybody regardless of their way of life. In conclusion, I strongly feel that governments should avoid imposing higher fees of medical treatment based on people’s lifestyle or food they consumed. This is simply because receiving health treatment is fundamental rights for all humans, and government can make a saving by having a policy that applies to everyone.