Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In recent times, the incidence of usage of drugs to enhance performance by athletes has been rising. The main culprit of this trend is the huge pressure faced by the player and it can easily be fixed by better screening for banned substances in body of the sports person. This essay will discuss the causes and provide solutions for this problem with a resonable conclusion. The most important cause for athletes to consume unapproved supplements is because they are expected to win by a very lage population. This puts the palyer on the spot and they feel the need to win the tournament at any cost since loosing is asssociated with letting down the country along with thousands of people. For instance, many psychologist claim that drug seeking behaviour in sports is associated with performance anxiety which is because of the pressure faced by the athlete. However, such incidences can be stopped if every sports person is screened for banned substances in their body before each major competition. Multiple blood, urine and other samples must be obtained and should be analised for various drugs and if the results turn out positive the culprit must face necessary consequences. This method will ensure and fair and healthy sportsmanship and eliminate the problem at hand. For example, according to the Times Of India, the usage of drugs in professional sports has gone down since India started testing players more vigilantly. In conclusion, the growing phenomenon of usage of unauthorised substances in sports is primarily due to expectation that is projected on the player by millions of people and it can easily be solved by running tests on the athlete.