With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays the discussion regarding whether the advancement of the internet eliminates loneliness and enable people to make virtual friends has sparked off an intense debate. In my honest opinion, remote communication makes people's life easier in terms of friend-making. However, it is not a perfect substitute for the traditional ways of communication. On the one hand, the development of cyber technology does boost the process of making relationships. Firstly, convenience by remote communication tools like Zoom, people are able to make contact and communications remotely without really physically reach out with their friends, which save the time consumes and the cost of transportation. This may in turn enable people to make more contact and reduce boredom. Secondly, due to the characteristic of the internet that a tremendous amount of people can have access to it, the existence of remote communication tools also provide people with chances to make a large variety of friends. These two factors illustrate the fact that the advancement of communication tools faster the process of contact-making. On the other,hand it is also undeniable that with the absence of real face-to-face communication, the internet is a poor solution to eliminate loneliness. This is due to the fact that, by only utilizing the internet or some virtual communication tools like Face Chat, it is extremely hard to build up a strong relationship since it is difficult for individuals to have full trust in the strangers on the internet and therefore may avoid making friends with them.One good example can be, reported in a review, over 98% of the life-long relationship is built face to face. To sum up the above-mentioned statements. Although the existence of the internet serves a good function in terms of connecting people,in terms of life-long friends making, online communication is far from enough.