In some countries, there is an increase in the number of parents who educate their children at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, varieties of approaches are adopted to teaching children well. While parental education at home has some benefits, the drawbacks outweigh, and a better choice remains to treat it as a supplement to school teaching. It is undeniable that homeschooling offers a more personalized construction of academic systems following the diverse nature of kids. As for each student, parents know more accurately about their child so that they can offer better educational opportunities. For example, when a kid shows a favor towards reading, his parent can concentrate fully on this and select proper books to strengthen the interest. This tailored election in homeschooling definitely responds more precisely to individual strength and weakness, and it can pave the way for children’s future academic behaviors. The child-dependent and parent-controlled pattern of family teaching is really effective in improving kids’ performance and should not be abandoned. However, knowledge and skills taught by parents at home are liable to be limited and not satisfied with the full development demands of children. They may lack social contact if they take much time at home, and this would result in poor-developed social skills due to generally insufficient connection with peers. Without encounter people with various cultures, worldviews, and socioeconomic status in a school, their spiritual and mental outlook tends to be simple instead of well established. This would be worse in terms of parents’ restricted academic backgrounds, especially when they have to move further to higher-level studies. Unlike home -schooling, traditional education at school is able to cover problems above and fulfill the needs both in social skills and for academic integrity. In conclusion, although educating children at home seems to be positive in some aspects, I believe the negative impacts should be paid more attention and it would be more excellent to regard it as an addiction to school education.