Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that schools is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are those who claim that good manners and citizenship awareness should be taught to children at home, whilst others suggest that education institutions should play this role. This essay will discuss both sides of this trend and, then, I will give my own perspective. To begin with, there are two reasons why part of society argue that children must learn about citizenship in their household. One of which is that parents are influential and determinant to the development of the toddler's behaviour during growth. As being observants, toddlers tend to mimick the adult's manners to reproduce. Furthermore, the responsibility to raise and teach about rights and duties starts at home. To cite an example, if a child shows problematic behaviour in primary school, the parents are called to a parent-teacher association meeting to discuss about the student attitudes toward others. In stark contrast, some argue that mainly schools should play the role of teaching about good manners and social respect, as they have professional staff and active strategies to teach properly. One key point is that school staff, even the janitors that do not deal directly with children, are trained to act well-mannered and politely during office hours to show examples to be followed. Moreover, professors are able to use differentiated taught exercises about citizenship which could be easily learned and assimilated by the little ones. Therefore, as a controled educational environment, school may use the right tools to educate about how to be a model citizen. To conclude, both sides have their merits and demerits. Although, in my opinion, due to the fact that parents and schools have an essential role in children's growth and social conscience development, both should act together and build good members, as acting individually would negatively reinforce what the other one is conveying.