The best way to increase road safety is to make car drivers retake their driving test every year. Do you agree or disagree ?

Some people believe that an annual mandatory driving test will help enhance road safety considerably. On the contrary, I believe that instead of concentrating all the efforts on annual exams, the transport department can work on important factors which can reduce road accidents. Firstly, conducting a roadway test of every driver every year involves dedicated efforts from government authorities. In developing countries such as India, which have limited resources, it's not feasible to conduct a yearly examination of all eligible candidates who are holding a valid driving license. For instance, officials can focus and spend their limited budgets and efforts in improving highway infrastructure which will thereby improve safety measures on road. Smart traffic signals, periodic training sessions on road safety, public awareness are some of the measures beaurocrats can focus. One must not forget that driving a skill that is difficult to unlearn. It is often compared to cycling & swimming, which as human being we never forget once learnt. Hence there is practically no need to evaluate driving skills every year. Having said this, I do opine that there should be an expiry on a driving license and individuals should be encouraged to take up driving exams for renewal only. This will make sure that people are updated with any new guidelines and safety measures. Although, few people might advocate that an annual riding exam will foster freeway safety, in my,opinion it's an over effort for government bodies, which can be easily avoided. They can focus more on other factors impacting road safety, which will eventually benefit society.