The tendency of news media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than good news has a negative effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News media is considered to be one of the pillars of democracy. Experts say that broadcasting only negative incidents have demotivating effects on society, although others disagree. This essay will discuss why I feel focusing on news about only crisis and emergencies have severe impacts on the mental wellness of individuals as well as on society as a whole. Some people, including me, believe that the recent trend of media houses focusing on emergencies and accidents have negative effects on human psychology. According to scientists our brain records and memorises bad news for longer times than the positive ones, whereas our mind always craves happiness in life. Therefore, watching sad news creates a constant conflict in the human mind. TV shows broadcasting only disaster-related news and people’s suffering, for example, have been influencing the thought process of a human being badly, posit the researchers of McGill University. Thus, due to constant exposure to negativity certainly, people forget to acknowledge the good things in their life. Similarly, society is also affected by this tendency of mass media. As the majority of the people are watching only such heart-wrenching news and discussing them all over their social media, negative news is the only information that is being circulated. In the recent pandemic, for instance, the world has seen the impacts of only spreading death news. According to the Hindu, during the second wave of Covid-19 the mental health of the entire society in India, for instance, was being affected and the psychological issues have seen a hike. Certainly, the lack of focus on good news has caused severe mental health concerns across the world. In conclusion, the main purpose of news channels is to bring the truth before its audience, which includes both positive and negative information. Therefore, I personally think, news channels should also broadcast positive news proportionately because the escalating trend of these channels of spreading news of accidents and deaths for increasing their TRP has detrimental effects on the psychology of mankind.