Nowadays on-line shopping has become more popular than in-store shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

For the past one centennial, an acute deviation to consumerism is observed in individuals. Recently, purchasing products through the internet is well-known among people, especially among youngsters. Such a trend has both benefits and drawbacks. This essay discusses both these sides in detail and a wise opinion would be given later. To commence with, people especially young adults consider offline shopping as outdated. They confirm their opinions with a lot of justifications. Firstly, people find it considerably convenient to obtain products at their doorsteps. To elaborate, rather than going for tiresome shopping, they can order whatever they want with a single click. Secondly, individuals observe internet purchase more secure, especially during the Covid pandemic. To explain, governments all over the world request their citizens to stay safe in their home accepting the Covid guidelines. Therefore, people opt to order necessary products through the internet. For example, a survey conducted by India Today shows that during the pandemic period, online shopping sites reaped 70% higher profits than before. Nevertheless, apart from the above-mentioned advantages, there are a plethora of drawbacks with such trends. To embark on, despite the fact that, those shopping sites are convenient, they could deteriorate the face to face communication skill of individuals. To explain, it is a proven fact that with the invasion of inexorable technologies, the current generation lacks proper direct interaction. Thereby, the popularity of such online shopping could aggravate the existing situation. In addition, customers might get cheated by selling them with inferior products. Since there is no platform for direct selection, consumers often have to satisfied with mutilated or expired commodities. For instance, according to an Online forum in Mumbai, 50% of individuals are dissatisfied with the online product quality. To conclude, in my opinion, it is certain that internet shopping has a myriad of benefits especially, during this pandemic time. However, increased promotion of these sites might lead to character deterioration of the present generation.