Question- Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, Museums are the sole monuments to preserve cultural heritage and tradition. In recent years, A plethora of art galleries has started taking entry fee whereas a few museums are free of cost to enter. While there are two main merits of raising funds this way such as adequate maintenance and enhancing the outlets,there are drawbacks as well which includes corruption and degradation of artistic value. In my,opinion advantages does outweigh the disadvantages as it provides financial aid to the organization if it is not supported by the government. To commence with, The most significant benefit of charging visitors for entry fee is to raise the appropriate fund for the museum. This is because a plentiful of historical sites have been abandoned due to lack of financial support from citizens or legislative bodies In addition, it also provides the opportunity to enhance the interior or outer design of the ancient objects. For example, majority of Indian museums have an entry fee which enables the management to have enough aid to support the museum staff and create new infrastructure which attracts the local residents in addition an enormous amount of galleries have created light or music show around the history of the site which reminds the individual of their heritage. As a result, it is crucial for galleries to have entry fee in order to survive the financial crunch. Nevertheless, There are drawbacks namely, corruption and politics involved in artistic objects which leads to tarnish the image of the artist and degrade the art value.Even though museum staff is well-paid people became greedy and try to replace valuable objects with a look alike moreover ancient monuments and sculpture can be stolen or degraded by the individual which leads to declining in entry visitors. To illustrate, In recent years few catholic museums in Rome has been in news due to money laundering of entry fee and budget of institution alternatively may monuments were fake and original art object has been sold in the black market. Therefore,charging an entry fee creates a controversial stand on one organization hence, it is beneficial for the government to take care of it. To conclude,while entry fee enables the doors to fund own infrastructure and create public interest it also welcomes the unethical practices of individuals. In my opinion, until and unless good samaritans are taking charge of leadership position in historical sites entry fee can be very beneficial for the progress of the museums activities.