In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In some countries, there is a certain number of people who make a considerable amount of money. While this is thought by some to be beneficial to a country, others feel that a maximum wage should be introduced by the government. In my opinion, there should not be a limit to how much people can earn for the development of society. On the one hand, some people argue that the government should have control over salaries in order to achieve equality. A small portion of people earning a disproportionately high income is one of the leading causes of poverty as it prevents low- income workers from obtaining enough money to have a sufficient standard of living. For instance, CEOs of multinational corporations earn on average 250 times more than the company’s lowest-paid employee, causing them to struggle financially. On the other hand, there are others who claim that the presence of highly paid workers has a positive impact on a country. A restriction on income would be negative as it would demotivate workers and thus hinder progress in society. This point is highlighted in a survey conducted in Tokyo which showed that more than 60% of people ’s primary motivation to work harder is to increase their salaries. Finally, my own view is that control on salaries would be detrimental to society and there are better ways to tackle this issue. I would suggest the implementation of progressive tax, where workers’ salaries are subject to taxes based on the amount of money. By doing this, not only could the government successfully reduce the income of high-achievers, but also the public would reap the benefit of the increased government revenue. A good example of this is Denmark, where a high progressive tax rate has been introduced and therefore citizens are enjoying sufficient social welfare. In conclusion, I believe that the introduction of progressive tax would be a more effective solution than maximum income. It is crucial that the government ensure a work environment where individuals can stay motivated to strive towards their financial goals.