The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I mostly agree with this statement. I think the British government urgently needs to introduce laws to reduce traffic, along with developing some new forms of transport. Nowadays the roads are very busy and there is too much traffic. This applies not only to Britain, but globally. One alternative to cars is public transportation, such as trains, buses and subways. If these are efficient, reliable and affordable, people can use them as alternatives to cars. But if they are unreliable or too expensive, which are common complaints about public transport in Britain, people will end up using cars instead. So my suggestion is the government spends tax from car users on alternative forms of transport. But one problem is, public transportation is not always ideal. For example, buses, subways and trains are very busy in rush hour. Also, if a person’s home is very far away from the bus stop or station, they cannot use it. So there should be enough bus stops, stations etc. I think fuel is a very important issue these days. Because air pollution has become a serious issue in many urban areas, and also oil is running out. So we should start to use electric cars, trains, etc. Also, governments should make it easy for people to use bicycles, electric scooters and so on because they are cheap, healthy and clean. However, despite these considerations, it is important to remember that for some areas, there is no alternative to car ownership and usage. This is particularly true of rural areas, where it would be too expensive and wasteful to provide a lot of public transportation. People in many rural areas have no alternative but to own cars. Therefore this must be considered when introducing any legislation.