Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Although most job descriptions require vocational skills or specialized knowledge, there is a paradox that academic subjects such as history and social studies get more attention compared to practical career experience. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. On the one hand, this attention brings about some good points. The most significant benefit of teaching academic subjects is improving critical thinking and analytical skills. Researching the nature of a problem or the complex social context of a historical period can help students strengthen the skills of analyzing phenomena with many different perspectives. This could apply to solving realistic problems at work. Moreover, a well-rounded education can provide a solid foundation for further specialized studies. For instance, logistics employees need to understand the fundamental geographical location of countries and regions, knowledge that has been cultivated for many years through geography. However, ignoring professional knowledge, which is truly essential for applying for a job, leads to many drawbacks. Firstly, the emphasis of academic subjects at school can overlook the immediate needs of the job market. After graduating, students are ill-prepared in terms of vocational skills and find it difficult to apply the theoretical knowledge they have learned into practice. This causes confusion, uncertainty and even unemployment among students. Secondly, most schools now implement the curriculum that includes many compulsory subjects in almost all fields, ranging from natural science to social studies, which may be hard for all students to study, especially those that have an inclination towards hand-ons work or physical activities. In conclusion, while academic subjects help students practice analytical thinking and build foundational knowledge, it is advised for schools to shift the attention towards specialist professional skills to meet the demand of the job market.