University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been pointed out that a vast majority number of university learners concentrate on their own major. Some people suggest that apart from their subject, students ought to be encouraged to learn other areas’ knowledge. I completely agree with this idea as widening their learning range is beneficial for pupils. First of all, learning various information can inspire their thinking styles. The reason is that every subject has its stereotypical views and shortcomings, if learners only focus on their own subject, their points of view and potential to succeed will be restricted. However, when students are able to expose themselves to other subjects, they can appreciate a variety of fascinating thinking styles. For example, those who learn mathematics normally have a logical thinking style. When they engage in the history world, past generation’s thoughts will be taught to them, which is something that they cannot gain from maths, enriching their minds. In addition, attending different courses trains students’ social skill. This is because that taking part in a massive variety of lectures provides pupils with several opportunities to communicate with their peers with different cultural and educational backgrounds, which is a wonderful way to improve their social and communication skills. As an illustration, biology learners who also put their name down economics subject are able to get along well with classmates with economic background. As these economics learners may have established their own business or distinct life experiences, it is a fascinating condition if biology students interact with a businessman at such a young age. In conclusion, apart from their own professions, individuals who are studying in university should be inspired to learn other courses. This situation not only widens their views but also increases their social skill.