Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people?

Tourists are generally drawn to museums and historical locations when visiting new countries. However, records have shown local people’s low attendance at these attractions. I will put forward some explanations before solutions can be drawn to tackle this problem. There are several reasons why tourists, instead of the local people, come to museums and historical places. First, these locations can provide visitors with a comprehensive overview of the traditions in the particular locality they are situated in. As a result, such destinations are generally more appealing to the newcomers than to the locals, those without the need to familiarise themselves with the traditional values of the region. Moreover, because the layout of museums and historical houses is likely to remain unchanged through the years, they can be visually unattractive to the local inhabitants, who may have been to these sites at least once in their younger years. Several measures can be prompted to promote locals’ attendance rate at buildings for historical relics and museums. The main solution is to change the public’s perception of such places as sites for only monotonous activities. Should civic events, including weddings, anniversaries, and concerts be allowed to be held in these locations, they would attract substantial public attention to historical values. Another resolution is that historians and preservationists should be featured more frequently on the media, with their articles on the tremendous worth of museums and historical remains. To conclude, historical areas and museums can be uninteresting for local citizens because they can be too familiar with the culture that these places depict. To better this, there should be more media coverage on historical assets and more open-door policies to use such locations as spots for more public-oriented activities.