Despite a large number of gyms, a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity in the contemporary world. What problems are associated with this? What solutions can you suggest?

Irrespective of the increasing number of gyms, the tendency of people being lazy and not concentrating on improving their physical fitness have become a major concern in today's world. This essay focuses on illustrating the possible adverse causes that can be arrised with this trend and on the latter part will be suggesting certain remedial actions to overcome this bad trend. To begin with, a sedentary lifestyle will lead to several health issues. The majority of the chronic illnesses today has increased due to such bad habits of the people. For instance, illnesses such as cardiac issues and diabetes are very common in the current context. A study conducted by the University of Colombo indicated that 50% of the above 30 years old population in Sri Lanka are suffering from at least one chronic health issue currently, although, the percentage was only 10% in 1970. Secondly, the mentioned health issues will have several negative implications for society as a whole. The spending on health will go up and also, this could be a reason to increase early mortality rates. Hence, all will have a collective responsibility to overcome this issue. Firstly, individuals need to be more concerned about their lifestyle. The day should be planned with an allocated time to do some physical activities. Secondly, the practice of involving in exercises should be trained from childhood. Hence, parents have a responsibility to guide their kids towards any activity which would help them to be fit. Thirdly, the government should focus on promoting the advantages of being fit. Also, infrastructure such as parks should be developed. For example, Colombo municipal council has created several walking tracks all over Colombo and that initiative has become a key motivational factor for people to be active after office hours. In summary, getting out of the comfort zone to have an active lifestyle is a must for each and every individual. It will definitely help them to lead towards a healthy lifestyle.