There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

A large amount of evidence shows that the growing use of cars is a major contributor to global warming as well as it has a negative effect on human health too. In this essay, I will discuss my views on how to reduce the use of cars. To begin with, One possible approach would be to take a long-term view and subsidize electric car use. Technology has come a long way and electric cars are safer to use. However electric cars are increasing in popularity. For Example, In a recent survey done by the Time of India revealed that 70% of the young generation is willing to buy electric cars in future because the crude oil is too costly. Another possible approach is the government should invest more in public transport so that people who travel easily commute from one place to another place. Evidence shows that well-maintained, reliable, and frequent means of transport such as bus, and rail, are regularly used by the public. In addition, more immediate, cash-flow-positive solution is to directly discourage car use. Increasing road taxes on people with more than two cars, and road pricing schemes such as a traffic congestion charge during peak traffic times would reduce the number of non-essential car journeys and encourage people to use other forms of transport such as buses. In conclusion, while car emissions are a growing threat to both the health of the planet and individuals, electrifying cars, mass transportation systems, and traffic management programs can help to mitigate the issue in the short and long term.