Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Many major urban centres like New York, Mumbai, etc. are witnessing a continuous increase in population as they are not only the global commercial hubs but also are well-equipped with most of the advanced social and public facilities. This essay will discuss the primary causes of overpopulation including the concentration of job opportunities and a better standard of living. Furthermore, the essay will suggest a possible solution to this problem. One of the major causes of such overpopulation is the concentration of work activities in these cities. Because they are global hubs and gateway to a lot of commercial activities, these provide more working opportunities to the workforce as compared to the other smaller cities. For instance, Mumbai is also known as the financial capital of India since it offers a major contribution to India’s GDP. Consequently, these centres generally have a better standard of living and are well-equipped with numerous social and public facilities. For instance, these tend to have better medical, educational and entertainment facilities as compared to other smaller cities. Because of these two prime reasons, professionals and skilled labours choose to relocate to these urban centres along with their families resulting in a population explosion. What can be done to curb this? There is a need to address this problem and the only way to control the population is to develop more and more such cities. The policymakers should plan to take several measures to address this. For instance, incentives can be provided to corporates to invest more in semi-urban cities. Additionally, the budget allocation to develop infrastructure in these small cities should be increased. These steps will result in a more efficient movement of the workforce to a different part of the country. To conclude, overpopulation in global urban centres is a major problem world is facing. The main reasons for this include concentration of job opportunities and a better standard of living. One of the solutions suggested in the essay is to have holistic development of other cities to balance the movement of the workforce.