Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teachers and different organisations always hold various activities to teach teenagers to stay away from committing offences. In some events, former prisoners are invited to be guest speakers to give a speech to teenagers. I agree to a great extent that former prisoners are the best speakers to talk to young people, even some say that different people, such as teachers and social workers, can act as speakers to teach young people to stay away from committing offences. In the following essay, reasons will be given to illustrate my view. People who have been in prison understand best what criminals think about and have been through the whole time. Former prisoners can share their family and educational background, peers they were with and their experiences in prison. As these former prisoners have already become good citizens again, they can tell the teenagers about the reasons for this fundamental change. After listening to their stories and thoughts, adolescents can connect their own background and thoughts with the ex- prisoners ’, so as to avoid making the same mistakes. Teenagers can have a better picture about prison life and be deterred away from committing offences. Some may say that teachers and social workers can serve the role of sharing drawbacks of committing offences and going to prison. However, it is often that educators and social workers do not have any criminal records, let alone going to prison. The stories they tell are usually learnt from people who have been to prison. Thus, their sharing is superficial and may even sound condescending to teenagers. This will not serve the purpose of teaching young people the danger of committing offences. On the contrary, for real former prisoners, young people will recognise the truthfulness and meaningfulness of their experiences, and learn something from them. In conclusion, I regard former prisoners are the best people to teach adolescents to stay away from committing offences to a great extent. After what they have experienced in their lives, former prisoners know best about the criminal and prison world. Changes in their attitude to become good people are real-life examples to teach young people.