Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people regard history as useless as there is nothing to learn from the past, while others say that it is important in the sense that it provides valuable information to understand our lives today. Both sides of the opinion will be illustrated in the following essay. Personally speaking, I believe that history is of great value to improve our current lives. One of the reasons why some people say that history is useless is because history will not repeat itself. The world is changing and progressing every second. While the past has already gone, it is of no use to look back and review the history. It is never going to be exactly the same as before. Also, technology is being invented every day in the world. For example, people in the past rode horses as their transportation. Nowadays, vehicles, aircraft, and ferries are invented for commuting. With new technology being invented every day, it is not of any value to look back in history, or even try to learn from it. On the other hand, some people cherish history as it provides much information for us to understand our life. For example, in the progress of mode of commuting from riding horses to using vehicles, there are a lot of inventions. This progress is a big asset to understand the societal structure, the socio-economic status of different classes of people and even the mode of employment of people. Moreover, it is important in the sense that the future could be predicted from history. In my opinion, I believe that history is valuable to us as we can learn from the mistakes in our lives, so as to better equip ourselves. In conclusion, while some people say that history is useless because there is no lesson to be taken in the past to benefit us now, I believe that history is valuable as we can learn from the previous events.