In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the public can go to a store and purchase food that is produced all over the world. I firmly believe that foreign food has a negative impact on countries and reduces people from buying local food. Firstly, purchasing foreign food can reduce cultural heritage and make society not interested in local food. Additionally, buying international food can reduce the public to try local food, and it can make local food less popular, so foreign food becomes more popular than local food. For example, there is a private mall called Aeon Mall in Indonesia that sells more popular foreign food than local food, such as pasta, sushi, and tuna. As a result, people tend to like the foreign food because the mall provides more international food than local food. Secondly, foreign food can be harmful to a country, and it can negatively affect the economy. Furthermore, most of the food is imported from outside the country, or they hire a chef to make the food, so local groceries do not get revenue from their sales because foreign food is more popular. For instance, Mixue is one of the companies from China whose stores grow rapidly in Indonesia. As a result, the local stores do not have a chance to compete with the many Chinese companies. In conclusion, purchasing foreign food is good for us to try new flavors, if we are bored with domestic food. However, we cannot forget our own cultures to keep local food existing, and buy more local food to support our local stores.