The use of private cars dominates most large cities in the world, causing a negative effect on the quality of life for the majority of the people who live in these cities. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged, and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certainly, cars have detrimental impacts on the lives of citizens who live in urban areas. In order to reduce these negative effects, some people hold that other means of transport should be promoted by implementing international regulations. I firmly agree with this stance. In recent times, humans are witnessing how climate change is changing their daily routines. One of the crucial factors that have contributed to making worse this situation is the contamination produced by cars. It has been proved by scientists that each year people use more automobiles in a private way to avoid public transport. These cars release greenhouse gasses, such as carbon dioxide, and noise pollution through their horns. To illustrate these points, take for example Santiago, individuals from this city suffer from respiratory and heart diseases related to the smog -produced by motor vehicles- and those who live close to busy streets suffer from stress as in traffic jams the sound is unbearable. Consequently, I believe that steps should be taken by national and international authorities to promote the use of alternative forms of transport. In the national scenario, governments might reduce the price of public transport’s fares to incentive their citizens to take busses or the subway. Regarding the international stage, multilateral organisations, such as the World Trade Organisation, ought to increase taxes on the exportation and importation of motor vehicles and, therefore, users will be discouraged to purchase new automobiles. To sum up, I am convinced that cars are negatively impacting the quality of life of a massive number of people. Public policies should be implemented by local and international institutions to halt this situation and, at the same time, foster the use of no motorized automobiles.