It is generally acknowledged that families are now not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together. Include any relevant examples from your experience.

It is a common understanding that the connection between family members has grown weaker than ever. This is due to the emergence of the wave of materialization and globalization, the product of industrialization and the digital age, that alter the intimacy between parents and children with the growing individualistic activities. These problems can be tackled by having the two parties dedicate proper occasion to share together. Both parents and youngsters tend to grow apart from each other due to the heightened social pressure and invasion of the wielding internet. While the increasing demands of life, owing to present days' infamous high competition, require parents to spend more time at work to ensure the advancement in career and to sustain the household's financial stability, lesser and lesser time are dedicated to their juvenile. On top of that is exacerbated by the distraction introduced by the technology that persuades the child to stay online to play games, watch anime cartoons and chat with their friends instead of spending some quality family time. Consequently, with the lack of parental supervision and care, children may easily fall victim to severe unfortunate events, such as internet bully and the development of depression. These challenges are faced by a considerable number of families including mine, and these imminent incidents can be solved by finding common activities or interests within the family. Instead of spending their time separately, everybody can gather around a smart television and watch some enjoyable Netflix together after dinner. As in my family, we take turn selecting the movie or TV series to watch together at least twice a week at home. By doing so, I get the expand my movie lists and explore different genres. Moreover, as my mother is a foodie, she usually cooks or brings home a variety of exotic food for us so we could taste them and rate the dish together as a family. Even though the lack of bonding in a family is omnipresent nowadays as the evolution of technology provides several appealing substitutions to it, each family can creatively come up with activities that they get to enjoy each other's company.