Some people believe that handwriting is no longer useful in the modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While many believe that cursive writing is now archaic, and as a result, others should be removed from the academic curriculum, others believe that it should still be taught in every learning institution. This essay will discuss why a certain percentage of the populace believes this, but why I strongly agree handwriting is no more an important subject that should be enforced in schools. The skill of handwriting dates as far back as the 18th century. Many parents believe that teaching this skill to their wards is a method of preserving ancient culture. For example, during world war one, it is believed the only way either party knew a message wasn't a trap was through the specific handwriting the letter came in. If this culture is eliminated, many fear their great history would be forever lost. In recent times, even in poorly developed countries, everything has become digitalized. With a smartphone, a tablet or any electronic device, one can easily do whatever it is they want to do. The argument that handwriting is important because one might need to sign off on important documents is not substantial. For example, in the past, because signatures have been forged on susceptible documents, consequently, if you want to sign off on a document officially, you are required to use your thumbprint and face identification. So why then should we bother with teaching kids how to write using a pen? Moreover, parents who are insistent on ensuring their children possess these skills can teach them these skills at home. In conclusion, while education methods, what should and should not be involved in a school's curriculum will forever be a debated topic, I vehemently agree handwriting is not an important skill to have. Thus, it should not be enforced in schools.