Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

We are now living in a high-speed developing world where it fills with people full of the spirit of competition. Since it brings a more positive contribution to our society, people view it as a very good quality to possess. In this essay, I will elaborate on the way in which competitiveness influence people in every field of our nation and the reason why I personally consider it as a positive quality for people to admire. First of all, a competitive environment can either encourage a person or discourage him. Let’s take a student as an example: being arranged in a competitive study environment, a student can opt to learn actively or passively, depending on how he considers his own future. If he is a positive person, he will definitely embrace the competition he faces, whereas if he is thinking in a more negative way, he might be accepting the situation and do nothing constructive to make a change. Therefore, the influence of competitiveness on an individual can be different, according to the person himself. Though being competitive won’t be everyone’s choice, even in society today, I personally think it is a great quality for people to cultivate. For one thing, competition makes progress. The reason why our world can become so modern today is mainly that it’s full of individuals who possess such spirit. Where there is competition, there is modernization. For another, being active is always beneficial for people ’s well being. A recent health report has reviewed that 80% of people ’s diseases are originated from their negative living attitude. Whether we choose to live actively, joining in various competitions, or staying where we are, the demands from the market or school are always there. Sooner or later, we have to confront them. Therefore, I don’t think choosing to avoid those challenges in life is a wise strategy. In conclusion, competition influence people in various ways though, I still strongly believe that instead of avoiding it, we should embrace it smiling. Only in this way, can we live a true blessing life.