In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do so

In recent years, more and more adolescence have decided to take a gap year between completing high school education and entering universities - to work or travel in an attempt to gain more life experience. While I accept the idea that it helps people broaden their knowledge as well as improve their like the rescues never should we overlook the drawbacks of taking a gap year. Among the benefits of taking a gap year, probably the first one popping into my head is that it allows students to enhance their life skills. Teenagers are often spoiled by parents and maids so they take everything for granted and expect everything to be handed to them on a silver platter. In foreign countries, these teenagers must learn how to take care of themselves - be it washing clothes, cooking dishes or doing chores. Essential life skills will in turn be developed. Another benefit that we should not overlook is that students can broaden their horizons. As foreign culture can be diametrically opposed to the culture at students ' hometowns, their horizons will be broadened and their minds will be opened. Students can learn how to appreciate and embrace different cultures instead of being stubborn and insist that their own culture is the best. Every culture has its own unique characteristics which are irreplaceable and we should learn to appreciate cultural diversity as it enriches our spiritual quality of life. Despite the benefits, travelling before starting a new degree in a university can make student forget their academic knowledge. An example is that mathematics involves many formulas and complicated calculations and students can easily forget the academic knowledge and skills without practising on a regular basis. Therefore, students who take a gap year to travel or work are likely to encounter difficulties in readapting to an academic environment again. Another potential disadvantage is that as teenagers have impressionable minds, they are susceptible to peer pressure. They will resort to doing anything - be it drinking or abusing drugs, in a bid to gain peer recognition. This undesirable consequence is exacerbated by the fact that teenagers are not offered with proper parental guidance when they study in foreign countries. Students with little self-restraint may even attempt juvenile delinquency, which is incontrovertibly detrimental to their development. Judging from this, travelling after finishing high school and before entering university studies is beneficial even though there are many disadvantages.