Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some students, after high school graduation, tend to spend a year working or travelling. Although there are some benefits of this trend, I believe that its drawbacks are greater. To begin with, delaying university enrollment helps enrich life experiences and skills. During a gap year, students can travel to various places around the world and experience cultures there. For example, when students live in abroad, they will have to adapt to an independent life and learn new languages. In addition to this, this helps them determine their suitable career path. In fact, many secondary schools provide students with inadequate career guidance. Therefore, looking for a job for a few months or attending conational training courses helps decide on career path better. Despite the advantages mentioned above, disadvantages of a gap year are more noticeable. Firstly, gap- year takers seem to be less confident in terms of study. Because during this period, they could forget some knowledge no matter how important it is, they easily fall behind compared to your counterparts and suffer peer pressure. Moreover, it is hard to resume study after a long- year break. This is because they get distracted from study for a long time. Finally, those who spend a year travelling or working after high school feel hard to earn a lot of money or cultivate relevant job skills. In fact, a high school leaver just gets entry-level jobs with low salary and does not enrich their life experiences. In conclusion, I believe that taking a gap year, despite its advantages, brings more disadvantages for high school leavers.