The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

There are a set of people who believe that the correctional institutions are not beneficial to rehabilitate the offenders and once they are released from prison, they reoffend. This essay will discuss the problems with the lockup system and possible solutions to reinstate criminals in the forthcoming paragraphs. The foremost problem being witnessed is that the convicts who committed the minor crime for the first time are also imprisoned in the same penitentiary, where the jailbirds are incarcerated. As it has been observed, when these lawbreakers converse with minor culprits, they swap their criminal thoughts and feelings, as a consequence of this, the first -time offenders also reciprocate to them, and they discover different schemes to indulge in criminal activities. Moreover, young prisoners sometimes move on to the path of crime under the influence of serious criminals, once they are released from captivity. One effective solution to restrain the criminals from reoffending is that they should be offered some special courses such as anger management, basic education and skill development programs in their leisure time. So that, after finishing their sentence when they return to society, these courses will be resourceful for them to get employed and live a better life. As it is usually seen, most uneducated people commit crimes because they are unaware of basic etiquette and unable to conquer their temper. In such circumstances, these programs will favour them to become a well-mannered people. Similarly, the criminal justice system should implement such programs that allow certain convicts to work outside the prison, under the stewardship of the jailor. In conclusion, the prison system has a significant role to save society from serious killers. In order to deter the crime, the government must promulgate effective laws, which help the prisoners to have a respectful life, once they complete their punishment.