International travel brings benefits to travellers and the countries visited, but it also harms for the environment. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Travelling abroad is an integral part of our lives, whether it is for pleasure or for work. So, some believe that travelling causes harm to the environment while others argue, that it is beneficial for a nation's prosperity. However, I believe that the benefits of international travel are greater than the effect it renders on the environment. On one hand, some people believe that aeroplanes are among the most prominent causes of air pollution because of carbon dioxide emissions. These emissions have a detrimental impact on the environment. However, according to research if we accumulate all the cars that are driven in a main urban area, their emissions are still far greater than a single aeroplane. Therefore, more planes in the sky do not equal more pollution. On the contrary, the benefits of travelling abroad are far greater than the drawback of air pollution. Firstly, vacationers, tourists, holidaymakers, explorers and travellers bring revenue to the economy and create numerous jobs for local people so that, they can support themselves. For example, the contribution of tourism or business travel in the economy of turkey is more than 50 per cent. This means that a majority of people are employed in the tourism and hospitality sector. Moreover, the government also earns revenue in the form of taxes collected from travellers or tourists. Similarly, countries such as Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Maldives also rely on tourism for the development of their economies. Moreover, another advantage is the different people from around the world experience the host country's culture and heritage. They learn the customs, traditions, rites, rituals and cuisines of the place. therefore, the host country gains a favourable reputation. In conclusion, I believe the advantages of travelling worldwide outweigh the disadvantage. Although, travelling to foreign destinations do contribute to air pollution but it results in the dissemination of the culture and economic prosperity of the host nation.