Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that when moving to a new country, the language barrier can be a great obstacle, since it may cause serious social, as well as practical problems. In my opinion, I agree with this statement since restriction in communication can result in significant difficulties for a foreigner. However, it is crucial for foreigners to respect their country since this is their mother tongue. On one hand, limitations when using non-native languages can cause significant social issues. Immigrants who have difficulties in understanding a new language may not communicate effectively with the native speakers, also, because of differences in grammar structures of every country, misunderstandings can lead to aggressive behaviours of people. One clear example is that immigrants usually have difficulties in having conversations with local people and in many cases, this could lead to fights or potential issues related to racism. On the other hand, regarding communication problems, the lack of clarity in communication can create issues in practical situations. If immigrants want to find a job, this will be a great challenge for them since their limitation in conversations can lead to low working experiences and make the given tasks more time-consuming. For example, the majority of international students coming to study in an English-speaking country may have trouble understanding their teachers as well as their peers. Therefore, this might lead to huge obstacles for international students. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that the language barrier can be a great difficulty for immigrants not only in social life but also in other practical situations. If immigrants do not acquire an adequate level of language, circumstances similar to this might still occur to them.