‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

The COVID-19 pandemic has brought unprecedented challenges; accordingly having a devastating impact on public health, society and the economy. Helping others during the Covid-19 crisis can help people on humanitarian grounds. Personally, I feel that donating is preferable to high keeping, and I will explain why. Firstly, helping others can also benefit our mental health. It is difficult not to be frustrated by updates of rising coronavirus cases, daily death tolls, and economic turmoil; however, turning our attention to help others with this crisis can make it easier for us to copes as well. Secondly, many charities rely on monetary donations. It is essential to support each other by morals, supplies, and volunteer works beyond the financial donation. For elders who cannot get groceries and for children who run out of medicine for the next day; we need to show our care by sharing our time and the things we have. It is true that not each individual may support a charity for some reason. However, what do we live for, if not to make life less difficult for each other? To conclude, although a number of the fixed part of people’s wages ought to be given to welfare, it would depend on their desire to help and income level due to unequal payment of each person. Occasionally doing a charity can make you feel that humanity is still alive.