News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspaper. What focus do you think influence these decisions? Do we become to used to bad news, and would it be better more good news was reported?

It is often argued that the news the population has access to is chosen by an editor. The paragraphs below will discuss why the information given depends on their power to attract and to catch attention, why people are accustomed to witnessing tragedies and why reading or watching reports with good endings would help to change this scenario. To begin with, among news many roles, the main one is to astonish the public. It does not matter if the event speaks about a serial killer that has been attacking recently. The logical idea is to drew people’s attention and to foment a debate over the topic, creating a trending issue. For instance, there is a Brazilian tv program that shows assaults and murders in a specific region of the country. Despite being perturbing, the reporter films cases of policial political chase and accidents which have an air of suspense and drama that hold the viewers watching. Furthermore, due to negative and shocking nature of these events people has given up on their empathy and humanity to give way to curiosity. To illustrate, although racism is a current important social problem, its daily occurrence has made individuals ask themselves what it is going to happen next, as if they were used to it. As a further matter, posting more about good news and elated endings would restore faith and hope toward good information. To conclude, editors mostly focus on posting events that would endure viewers concentrated, despite the chaotic and troublesome nature of what is being posted. Moreover, these recurrent distribution of problematic information cause a sense of naturalness and normality, which is not, and should be combated by posting more amusing stories.