Overcrowding in cities is often created when people move from rural to urban areas. What are some problems associated with overcrowding? What can governments do to prevent this issue?

Can you imagine living life in the immensely crowded city or being on the same train with people twice the number of the train’s capacity? Nowadays, overpopulation in several major cities around the world is addressed as one of the serious problems. This issue is normally caused by the migration of people from rural areas to the places that are more urbanized. However, this migration can be followed by a number of problems requiring the serious actions from governments to take in order to prevent them. First of all, pollution is what associated with overcrowding problem. When there are too many people in a particular place, there will be the overuse of energy leading to emission of exhaust or waste water which are considered as air and land pollution. Furthermore, noise pollution is another issue that cannot be avoided as it can be from the vehicles on the streets, industries or entertaining venues. Another problem is crime. This problem is almost unavoidable in the cities with overpopulation issue. One reason might lie in the fact that it is more convenient to commit crime in the crowd which is difficult to be noticed. For example, the percentage of theft in the cities which are tourist attractions tend to be higher than those in rural areas. What the governments can do to prevent the mentioned problem is to limit the migration in each year and have the migrants registered. This will be able to control the number of population in the city. Moreover, the registration will facilitate the governments with the information of the migrants in case they would like to issue any further measure in the future. To summarize, the major problems resulted from overcrowding in the cities are pollution and crime. The actions that the government can take are limit the amount of migration rate annually as well as register the migrants. If they can successfully do this, the trend of overcrowded cities will be eliminated in the future.