Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is thought by some that offenders of certain crimes ought to engage in volunteer work rather than spending time in prison. In my opinion, I entirely agree with this statement from economic and employment perspectives. Firstly, prisoners being involved in community work have a positive economic impact on society. A certain portion of the tax is allocated to prisons in order to provide inmates with food, clothing, accommodation and medical care. For this reason, if they engaged in unpaid work, it would be an effective way for them to cover their own living expenses. In Japan, for instance, approximately 1500 Japanese yen is spent in a day on one convict, which could easily be compensated for through a few hours of unpaid public work, such as plumbing and trimming of roadside shrubs. Secondly, community work during the period of imprisonment is beneficial to inmates as it prepares them to find employment when they are released. Participating in volunteer work outside of prison offers opportunities for convicts to acquire useful skills required in a workplace, thus increasing their chance of successfully being employed after serving their sentence. For example, by delivering meals to the disabled, inmates could improve their time management and communication skills. This point is especially significant considering the high recidivism rate for criminals whose motive was the lack of financial security. In conclusion, I strongly support the idea that prisoners should do community work to compensate for the cost of accommodating them in prison as well as to help them develop skills. It is crucial that the justice system ensure a supportive environment for ex-convicts who are trying to reintegrate into society.